An Elegy for My Mother

LEONILA C. FERNANDEZ (1945-2008)

 

 

When I was a child, new to this world,

curious eyes, a fragile mind unfurled;

her love I remembered, 

but pain I took to heart-

a pain masked by naked strength,

pain she shrouded in most part

with niceties of motherhood,

But God knows I understood,

for that pain never escaped me.

the unruffled look in her face,

and a voice—such comforting grace,

yet the eyes betrayed, and could not hide;

spoke of loneliness, uncertainty.

She’d loved a husband who died.

the grief of a young widow,

with no means, alone,  to take care of

one unborn, a two-year old, to love.

We took, we ate, we grew, damn! We’re fools;

she cuddled, held us, her precious jewels.

No hands of hers pushed me to certain roads,

but where I went, paths were lit by her words.

  

I saw my mother struggled and worked to put food on the table.  Early on, I knew I had no luxury of causing her more pain.  The message was unsaid, but clear to my young mind then.  She sought no personal comforts, no luxuries, no gifts.  When I had the means, I had the greatest difficulty of finding, if not, buying that thing to make her happy.  

 

Her love was pure and unconditional.  She sacrificed and chose to delay her own personal joys so she could give us ours.  I realize we, her children, were her life. 

 

She is sorely missed.

  

In her death, I thought I would,

as dark clouds loomed in the road ahead,

summon that pain again, instead,

it was pain that summoned me.

            On October 28, 2008, a few minutes before midnight, my mother, Leonila C. Fernandez, succumbed to cancer. 

Earlier, it was perhaps, the longest, most distressing, and agonizing two-weeks I ever had.  It was difficult feigning a deportment of normalcy at work and trying to put my anguish and worry out of sight for two straight weeks.   To a certain extent during the day, when absorbed in work, I did forget, well at least momentarily, the much dreaded thought of losing the person I love so much, someone I wouldn’t dither taking a bullet for.  But every day after I leave work and head to the hospital where she was confined, I was greeted with numbing bites of a grim reality, as shown by the unexpectedly rapid deterioration in her condition.  It had become less and less a dreaded thought but more and more a mounting certainty.

A few weeks before, after months of chemotherapy, a surgery, and radiation, we all heaved a sigh of relief when she responded positively to the treatment.  All the laboratory results showed that her organs were clear of antigens, and that she was virtually free of cancer.   That’s why the sudden and early recurrence was very much unexpected, and very painful.  This agent of death—cancer—had already metastasized to the liver, and had become very aggressive.

Death proved to be such a ruthless thief.  It probably just lurked behind the pall of darkness.  It was furtive and waited until fate was just about to bestow the gift of hope—hope that my mother would still be there for years to come—when death coldly wielded its scythe. 

 

42 thoughts on “An Elegy for My Mother

  1. i love auntie nelly. i will surely miss her. i understand how painful it is to lose somebody you love so much, a person who was or is a big part of your life and that losing her/him makes you feel incomplete.

  2. I share your pain, ‘Lan. Watching my mother die of cancer was very agonizing. The most hurtful thing is to stand by knowing we couldn’t do anything to extend their lives.
    I’m glad I got to meet her again and spoke briefly two years ago when you invited us to a picnic at your Uncle Ramon’s cottage. Much of the time I remembered about your mom was when you were still living at your old place near the San Vicente chapel. She always graciously smiled and greeted me every time I passed by your store whether I am on my bike or riding in a pedal-powered tricycle or “potpot”. In our lifetime, we meet people in different places, different time and somehow when we come to remember them we associate our acquaintances with something they have done or given us. With your mom, I must say it was the spaghetti and the sweetest potato or “kamote” I have ever tasted. I know it was your birthday but I can’t remember the year anymore. There were lots of food but it was the kamote who permeated through my taste buds and gave me a lasting food impression. To this date, I still can remember when your mom passed me that sweet potato in a yellow kind-of -square Tupperware and said “taste it, it’s sweet—-indeed it was, and like your mom, she was always gracious………..and sweet. May she rest I peace.

  3. Nicely said Shoe. In my wedding, Ningning and I decided to have only a pair of godparents, and I wanted that mine would have to be the two of the most influential people in my life. Indeed, I never hesitated to pick Mama Nelly as one of the two. That’s how especial she meant to me. In her memory and honour, let me share this:
    Love,
    Filled my memories of her
    Beautiful, endearing, humble soul.
    Abundant, indeed, her compassion
    Shared with us, we, I
    Too she cared as her own.
    Honoured, I will always be
    Blessed that I shared her memories
    Filled with warmth of a Mother’s
    Love.
    May she rest in peace.

  4. janet, thank you. I never experience this kind of pain before. I had so many plans, so many things to do but would not happen anymore.

  5. Emerson, thank you for that piece of poetry. Close friends like you easily regarded my mother as if she was your own mother–and my mother treated you as her sons. I know you have shared the same grief as I do.

  6. My condolences & I’m deeply sorry for your loss. Auntie Nelly was such a nice and caring woman. It’s such a tremendous sorrow losing a loved one. Hope everything is well with you. My family and I extend our regards to you & yours.

  7. Alwyn, thank you.
    I can see that you are doing well in the states and I’m glad. I lurked at your site and enjoyed your posts. You know, aside from beer, chocolate always makes my day. 🙂

  8. when we visit this [url=http://www.wholesalenewerahats.net]new era store[/url] online, we see so many [url=http://www.wholesalenewerahats.net]new era hats cheap[/url] there, and new fashion [url=http://www.wholesalenewerahats.net]new era hats wholesale[/url] price. just to do [url=http://www.wholesalenewerahats.net]new era caps wholesale[/url] and [url=http://www.wholesalenewerahats.net]wholesale new era hats[/url] with them.

  9. [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/][b]Tiffany Outlet[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/][b]Tiffany and Co Outlet[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/][b]Tiffany Jewelry Outlet[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/][b]Tiffany Co Outlet[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/tiffany-bangle-c-0_67.html][b]Tiffany Bangle[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/tiffany-rings-c-0_66.html][b]Tiffany Rings[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.tiffanycooutlet-shop.com/tiffany-jewelry-outlet-return-to-tiffanybig-heart-tag-bracelet-p-199.html][b]Tiffany Jewelry Outlet Return to Tiffanybig heart tag bracelet[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.ebaybing.com/handbag-catalog-prada-handbags-c-0_1220.html][b]Prada Handbags[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.ebaybing.com/accessories-catalog-prada-sunglasses-c-0_65.html][b]Prada Sunglasses[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.ebaybing.com/mens-footwear-prada-shoes-c-11_1541.html][b]Prada Shoes[/b][/url]

  10. You have a quite different idea,It sounds really amazing !I suppose you may like sports,I think jordan shoes is a good choice!Don’t you think so?

  11. Good post. I am also going to write a blog post about this…I enjoyed reading your post and I like your take on the issue. Thanks.

  12. Juicy Couture
    Juicy couture outlet
    Juicy Couture handbags
    juicy couture swimwear
    Juicy Couture tracksuits
    juicy couture handbags
    juicy couture tracksuits
    juicy couture laptop case
    juicy couture kids
    juicy couture dog carrier
    juicy wallets
    juicy couture dog carrier bags
    juicy couture kids sale
    juicy couture shoes
    juicy couture wallets
    news about Juicy Couture Handbags
    juicy dog carrier
    juicy couture
    juicy couture july
    juicy couture dog
    kids couture
    light pink and green
    light pink bikini p
    my luxary juicy couture
    juicy couture laptop
    Louis Vuitton
    Louis Vuitton wallet
    Louis Vuitton handbags
    Louis Vuitton online
    Louis Vuitton outlet online
    Louis Vuitton sale
    louis vuitton handbag
    louis vuitton m51130
    louis vuitton taiga lozan
    lv m93166
    lv acoma briefcase
    leather bags
    louis vuitton bags
    louis vuitton n60826
    louis vuitton possession carre
    prada tessuto saffian nero
    lv mens brazza wallet
    louis vuitton sabbia rose
    louis vuitton mini pochette accessoires replica
    louis vuitton monogram idylle fantaisie m40408
    Gucci
    Gucci Wallet
    Gucci Handbags
    Gucci outlet
    Gucci sale
    cheap gucci handbags
    gucci 257032
    gucci bag
    gucci bags
    247183 ftaqt 9643
    257026 fwhdg9662
    257061 ffkpg 8420
    bamboo bar medium hobo
    gucci handbags news
    gucci mayfair medium hobo
    gucci totes
    gucci wallet white 257019
    gucci 257003
    sunset gucci handbag
    gucci model 203550
    gucci new wallet 2569
    gucci hobo bags news
    gucci joy boston bag rome
    cgeap gucci earrings
    cheap gucci bags
    gucci 257047
    gucci 257053
    gucci 189833
    Christian Louboutin Cheap
    Christian Louboutin Shoes
    discount Christian Louboutin Boots
    Christian Louboutin
    Christian Louboutin Shoes
    Discount Christian Louboutin Shoes
    Christian Louboutin Sale
    Discount Louboutin Shoe
    Louboutin Sale
    Discount Louboutin
    Christian Louboutin Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Pointed Toe Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Peep Toe Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Mary Jane Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Slingbacks
    Christian Louboutin Evening
    Christian Louboutin Sandals
    Christian Louboutin Wedges
    Christian Louboutin Flats
    Christian Louboutin Sandal Booties
    Christian Louboutin Ankle Boots
    Christian Louboutin Boots
    Christian Louboutin Thigh High Boots
    Christian Louboutin Sneakers
    Christian Louboutin Men Shoes
    Cheap Louboutin Shoes
    Christian Louboutin Outlets
    Discount Christian Louboutin
    Christian Louboutin Sale
    Christian Louboutin Shoes
    Christian Louboutin New Arrivals
    Christian Louboutin Shoes
    Christian Louboutin Boots
    Christian Louboutin Ankle Boots
    Christian Louboutin Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Rolando Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Mary Jane Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Peep Toe Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Platform Pumps
    Christian Louboutin Evening
    Christian Louboutin Wedges
    Christian Louboutin Flats
    Christian Louboutin Sneakers
    Christian Louboutin Sandals
    Christian Louboutin Slingbacks

  13. The [url=http://www.louisvuitton-outletsale.com/]Louis Vuitton Sale[/url] are very popular. To have [url=http://www.louisvuitton-outletsale.com/]Discount Louis Vuitton[/url] saves lots of money. Along with the high development of economy, people require ever-higher levels of life. [url=http://www.louisvuitton-outletsale.com/]Louis Vuitton Outlet[/url] is a favorable place for ladies.

  14. For great designs in footwear which are easy and genuinely versatile, pick upward some Tory Burch footwear. These shoes are well-crafted and beautiful and can evoke that enviable degree of femininity with all of your looks. Tory Burch Flip Flops products are extremely popular today. Since they were introduced on the market, they immediately took the style world by surprise. Under the Tory Burch Heels are shoes, gowns, boots and purses. All their products possess a unique sense associated with style. Tory Burch Flats for instance, are a should have for any fashionable woman.

  15. With a refined look, some Cheap Louis Vuitton bags have luxuriously ornate handles. These Louis Vuitton Uk are spacious and sophisticated. Get a timeless tote bag from Louis Vuitton Outlet if you want to have a trip.

  16. The Woolrich Parka from Woolrich Outlet is produced of dark python leather-based since the upper and gold buckles, so it is incredibly exceptional and special. You can count on our Woolrich Online in purchase to possess a trendy and fantastic look with Woolrich Arctic Parka. Woolrich Jackets characteristic 3 colours way within the lambskin upper and also you will turn into incredible when getting people jackets. Just welcome to us and get Woolrich Arctic Parka back again household with coupons.

  17. But the real makes the brand of reforming is still in 1998Moncler Outlet under FinPart group industrial finally move. Pepper Continue to Moncler Jackets rally before the strategic plan in the head office of the FinPart after support to Moncler Coats develop more and more Moncler the product line, the comprehensive to play out the potential of the brand value. And TV ads that appear in the mountain was born in Cheap Moncler life in a big city image has become its classic. The Moncler jackets become during the cold season cotton-padded Moncler jacket, even in skiing in elegant cases accepted necessary sheet is tasted. And over time, foster the company constantly expand, and to other fields of sports Vibram Fivefingersdevelopment, foster\’s grandson, joined the company with his family members, together for excellent athletes, Vibram Five fingers continue to create a more comfortable shoes and concentrate committed to the design gives more QingJie sneakers to improve performance athletes. Reebok Zigtech The founder of the two other Zigtech Shoes son Joseph and jeffery in service page back to the British bolton and with the company development Zigtech Reebok.

  18. But the real makes the brand of reforming is still in 1998 Moncler Outlet under FinPart group industrial finally move. Pepper Continue to Moncler Jackets rally before the strategic plan in the head office of the FinPart after support to Moncler Coats develop more and more Moncler the product line, the comprehensive to play out the potential of the brand value. And TV ads that appear in the mountain was born in Cheap Moncler life in a big city image has become its classic. The Moncler jackets become during the cold season cotton-padded Moncler jacket,
    http://www.moncleroutletitaly.com
    even in skiing in elegant cases accepted necessary sheet is tasted. And over time, foster the company constantly expand, and to other fields of sports Vibram Fivefingers development, foster\’s grandson, joined the company with his family members, together for excellent athletes, Vibram Five fingers continue to create a more comfortable shoes and concentrate committed to the design gives more QingJie sneakers to improve performance athletes. Reebok Zigtech The founder of the two other Zigtech Shoes son Joseph and jeffery in service page back to the British bolton and with the company development zigtech reebok. http://www.reebokzigtechsales.com

  19. Thanks for your support!Good news! Pop supra tk society,supra skytop are
    released with special materials.It is flexible and sporty.Recommend justin
    bieber shoes purple for every one.More colorful series supra shoes for cheap!

  20. I first came to visit your site, this article is worth people thinking about people watching, very pleased to meet you here! Thank you for sharing this with us win a good article!

  21. This is my first time i go to here. I identified a lot of entertaining things in your blog site, especially its discussion. Through the tons of comments in your articles, I guess I am not the only one having every one of the enjoyment here! hold up the great perform.

Leave a Reply

